Board of Trustees
Encinitas Union School District
  (L-R) Emily Andrade, Marla Strich, Gregg Sonken, Carol Skiljan, Patricia Sinay
The five member Board of Trustees of the Encinitas Union School District is elected by the citizens of the city of Encinitas and the Rancho La Costa area of south Carlsbad.  Board members serve four year terms and terms are staggered to allow for continuity during election years.  Our Board is responsible for the approval of the scope and focus of the Encinitas Union School District.  The Board operates under the authority of the California Constitution, the State Legislature​California ​Education Code​ and the California State Board of Education.  The trustees are responsible for approving the annual budget, adopting policies governing the operation of the Board, acts as an appeals board for student expulsions, inter-district transfers, charter school petitions and selecting the district's superintendent.
​Board Member ​Position ​Te​rm
Emily Andrade  President 2014 - 2018
​Patricia S. Sinay Board Clerk 2014 - 2016
Carol Skiljan ​NCCSE Representative ​2012 - 2016
Gregg Sonken ​Vice President  2014 - 2018
Marla Strich​   Board Member 2014 - 2018